Wednesday, 13 May 2015

The Country Music Association of Ontario Road to Independence Conference & Awards Show Coming Soon!

The Country Music Association of Ontario (CMAO) is hosting the 2nd Annual Road To Independence (R2I) Spring Tune Up Conference on May 24th and 25th at the Delta Hotel Markham (50 East Valhalla Dr., Markham, ON). The conference, presented by Slaight Music and supported by Ontario Media Development Corporation, will kick-off on Sunday, May 24th with a Keynote Interview with industry heavyweight, Derrick Ross of Slaight Music. Activities culminate with the presentation of the 2015 CMAO Awards on Monday, May 25th at Flato Markham Theatre.

The R2I Conference will feature knowledgeable industry panelists and keynote speakers such as Beverly Mahood, Samantha Pickard (Strut Entertainment), Jodie Ferneyhough (Canadian Music Publishers Assoc.), Michelle Wright & Ted Roop (Larche Communications). All panels and workshops will be interactive to ensure delegates can connect with key members of the music industry. The 2-day Conference will also include an Industry Showcase, to help new Ontario talent get noticed and advance their career to the next level, and the SOCAN Songwriter's Circle Super Session featuring some of Ontario's hottest country musicians! Some features include a SOCAN Songwriters Super Session featuring Deric Ruttan, Victoria Banks & more! A session of artists sharing their personal recipes for success featuring Jess Moskaluke & Chad Brownlee will also take place, and so much more.
Full details, including times and industry speakers confirmed for each R2I panel, can be seen here: Conference passes for the CMAO's R2I Spring Tune-Up Conference on May 24th and 25th are available now at:

Following the 2-day conference event, CMAO will celebrate the incredible talents in Ontario country music with the 3rd Annual CMAO Awards Show. This year's star-studded event will once again be hosted by Jason McCoy of the Road Hammers, and will be held Monday, May 25, 2015, at the Flato Markham Theatre.

The 2015 CMAO Awards
, presented by Slaight Music, will feature performances by: Jason Blaine, Leah Daniels, Tim Hicks, Russell deCarle and Deric Ruttan with additional performers to be announced. The Western Swing Authority will return to the awards as the event's house band.
Peterborough country star Tebey leads the pack of 2015 CMAO Awards nominees with a grand total of six nominations, including Single and Album of the Year. St. Catharines native Tim Hicks follows close behind with five nominations and Jason Blaine, Runaway Angel and Small Town Pistols each come in with four nominations apiece.
The 2015 CMAO Nominees are:
Single of the Year:
Jason Blaine - Layin' Your Love On Me (eOne Music Canada)
Tim Hicks - Here Comes The Thunder (Open Road Recordings)
Beverley Mahood - Sunday I'm An Angel (Spin Music)
Runaway Angel - Our Story (Southbound Records)
Small Town Pistols - I Only Smoke When I Drink (604 Records)
Tebey - Now I Do (Road Angel Entertainment)

Album of the Year:
Lindsay Broughton - Take Me There (Curve Music)
Tim Hicks - 5:01 (Open Road Recordings)
Kira Isabella - Caffeine & Big Dreams (Sony Music Canada)
Lindi Ortega - Tin Star (Last Gang Entertainment)
Tebey - Two (Road Angel Entertainment)
The Lovelocks - The Lovelocks (MDM Recordings Inc.)

Songwriter (s) of the Year:
Jason Blaine/Deric Ruttan (Layin' Your Love On Me - Jason Blaine)
Leah Daniels/Beverley Mahood/Bruce Wallace (Go Back - Leah Daniels)
Todd Clark/Tim Hicks/Gavin Slate (Here Comes The Thunder - Tim Hicks)
Ann Chaplin/Cadence Grace/Stacy Zegers (Our Story - Runaway Angel)
Alyssa Bonagura/Patricia Conroy/ Amanda Wilkinson/Tyler Wilkinson (I Only Smoke When I Drink - Small Town Pistols)
Patricia Conroy/Danick Dupelle/Tebey (Now I Do - Tebey)

Female Artist of the Year:
Genevieve Fisher (Independent)
Kira Isabella (Sony Music Canada)
Brea Lawrenson (Independent)
Beverley Mahood (Spin Music)
Tianna Woods (Independent)
Michelle Wright (Savannah Music)

Male Artist of the Year:
Jason Blaine (eOne Music Canada)
Marshall Dane (Awesome Country)
Tim Hicks (Open Road Recordings)
Jason McCoy (Open Road Recordings)
Deric Ruttan (Black T Records)
Tebey (Road Angel Entertainment)

Group or Duo of the Year:
Autumn Hill (Wax Records)
Blackwell (Eating Crow Records)
Runaway Angel (Southbound Records)
Small Town Pistols (604 Records)
The Stellas (Universal Music Canada)
The Western Swing Authority (eOne Music Canada)

Roots Artist or Group of the Year:
Lindi Ortega (Last Gang Entertainment)
The Abrams Brothers (Independent)
The Good Family (Latent Recordings)
The Heartbroken (Universal Music Canada)
The Lovelocks (MDM Recordings Inc.)
The Western Swing Authority (eOne Music Canada)

Rising Star Award:
Leah Daniels (Spin Music)
Riki Knox (Independent)
Brea Lawrenson (Independent)
Northern Roads (Independent)
Brooklyn Roebuck (Independent)
Runaway Angel (Southbound Records)
Tianna Woods (Independent)

Music Video of the Year:
Jason Blaine - Layin' Your Love On Me (eOne Music Canada)
Lindsay Broughton - Take Me There (Curve Music)
Tim Hicks - She Don't Drink Whiskey Anymore (Open Road Recordings)
Kira Isabella - Quarterback (Sony Music Canada)
Small Town Pistols - I Only Smoke When I Drink (604 Records)
Tebey - Now I Do (Road Angel Entertainment)

Record Producer of the Year:
Carey Blackwell/Joe Turner for Redneck Style by Blackwell (single)
Sam Ellis for Go Backby Leah Daniels (single)
Jason Barry for Night In Night Outby Genevieve Fisher (single) and One Of Us Is Lying by The Western Swing Authority (single)
Bob Funk/Beverley Mahood for Sunday I'm An Angel by Beverley Mahood (album)
Danick Dupelle/Tebey for Two by Tebey (album)
Peter Linseman for Hit Me With Your Best Shot by Kate Todd (single)

Radio Station of the Year (Major Market):
CHKX - KX 94.7 FM - Hamilton
CICX - KICX 106 FM - Orillia
CJKX - KX 96 FM - Oshawa
CKBY - Country 101.1 FM - Ottawa
CKDK - Country 104 FM - London/Woodstock
CKXC - Country 93.5 FM - Kingston

Radio Station of the Year (Secondary Market):
CFCO - Country 92.9 FM - Chatham
CFRM - The Island FM - Manitoulin
CJDL - Country 107.3 FM - Tillsonburg
CKAT - Country 600 - North Bay
CKNX - AM 920 - Wingham
CKYC - Country 93 FM - Owen Sound

For more information on the CMAO Awards and the Road to Independence Spring Tune Up Conference, please visit:

No comments:

Post a Comment